NTPA 2017 Conference Hotel Information

We will be notifying participants soon regarding paper acceptances. Once you have been notified that your paper has been accepted, please confirm via email that you will be able to attend. Then we ask that you take one or both actions listed below.

  1. Please pay your conference fees online via our PayPal link. This helps us to cover immediate conference preparation costs (catering, supplies, etc.). Also, we will not be accepting checks this year. Thus, we encourage you to pay online prior to the conference. We will accept cash at the conference, and the University of Dallas has an ATM in the Haggar Student Center; however, you will be charged a $3.00 processing fee.
  2. Please make your hotel reservations as soon as possible so that you can take advantage of the discounted rates. Be sure to mention the “UD/NTPA rate” when you book your rooms. Click this link to download a document listing the hotels with which we are partnering. *Please note, not all of the hotel options offer shuttle service on Saturday; thus, you may need to arrange for a driver for Saturday, depending on the hotel you choose.

Thank you for your participation and contributions to this year’s NTPA annual conference!


2017 North Texas Philosophical Association Call for Papers–Extended Deadline, Jan. 30

March 31-April 1 at the University of Dallas, SB Hall (#19 on campus map)


***We kindly ask that you pay your conference fees in advance via the NTPA PayPal portal, as this enables us to provide you with the best conference experience possible.

Gabriel Rockhill, Villanova University


Christian Emden, Rice University



Charles R. Bambach, University of Texas at Dallas



  • David Kaplan, University of North Texas
  • Shellie Gordon-McCullough, University of Texas at Dallas
  • Cynthia Nielsen, University of Dallas
  • Kristi Sweet, Texas A&M University
  • Dale Wilkerson, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
  • Robert Wood, University of Dallas

The NTPA invites papers from all philosophical perspectives.  Individual participants should submit a completed paper of 3000-3500 words and an abstract of 150 – 200 words. Panel participants should submit a title and a proposal for the panel (approximately 500 words), together with the completed papers. 

The NTPA employs a blind review process for non-invited papers. Names of authors and organizations should appear only on a separate cover sheet and be omitted from proposals, papers and footnotes. The NTPA will award a $100 Prize to the Most Outstanding Graduate Student Essay. To apply for the Graduate Student Award, indicate intent on the cover page. 


Email papers and program questions to NTPA Co-Secretary:

Dale Wilkerson: [email protected] 

For logistical support at the University of Dallas contact NTPA Co-Secretary:

Cynthia Nielsen: [email protected] 

***We kindly ask that you pay your conference fees in advance via the NTPA PayPal portal, as this enables us to provide you with the best conference experience possible.

The NTPA thanks its Institutional Affiliates and Sponsors: Department of Philosophy, University of Dallas; Josh Parens, Dean of the Braniff Graduate School of Liberal Arts, University of Dallas; Jonathan Sanford, Dean of Constantin, University of Dallas; Jeffrey Kinlaw, McMurry University; Department of Philosophy, Texas A&M University; Dr. Mark Thames, El Centro College; Center for Environmental Philosophy at the University of North Texas; the Department of Arts & Humanities at the University of Texas at Dallas.